BUY >> Angel in the Waters | Shadow: Book : Audio | Black as Night | Waking Rose | Midnight Dancers | Alex O'Donnell

Author, Speaker, & Project Manager
The Midnight Dancers: a fairy tale retold
Waking Rose: a fairy tale retold
Black as Night: a fairy tale retold
The Shadow of the Bear

Angel in the Waters

Regina's Blog

Join my mailing list for updates about my books, projects, and/or events!
* indicates required
I don't sell, rent, or give these email addresses away to third parties.

family and personal information

 Regina Doman at her home, Shirefeld, near Front Royal, Virginia
Regina at her home Shirefeld near Front Royal, Virginia
Photographer: Craig Spiering

Regina Doman was born in 1970 in Havertown, Pennsylvania. After attending several different Catholic, public, and private schools, she graduated from Koinonia Academy of Warren, New Jersey in 1988. Having a strong interest in scriptwriting, she attended the Franciscan University of Steubenville, Ohio and in 1992 graduated with a BA in Communications, concentrating on Television Production, with a minor in Theatre Arts. She lived in New York City and worked as assistant editor of Lay Witness magazine from 1992-1994, and wrote columns and articles for various publications, including a comic strip for YOU! magazine. In 1994 she married her husband, Andrew. She published her first novel for teenagers in 1997: Snow White and Rose Red: A Modern Fairy Tale, republished in paperback in 2002 under the title The Shadow of the Bear. The sequel, Black as Night, was published in 2004.

Her first picture book, Angel in the Waters, has sold over 120,000 copies.

As an editor for Sophia Institute Press, she created and oversaw the development of the John Paul 2 High series, whose first title, Catholic, Reluctantly was released in March 2008, and Trespasses Against Us was released in April 2009.  In 2011 Regina received the rights to publish the John Paul 2 High series with her own company, Chesterton Press. Book 3, Summer of My Dissent was released in November 2011.  Book 4: Undercover Papist was released in time for Easter 2012.

Also released in time for Easter 2012 was Catholic Philosopher Chick Makes Her Début, the first book in a series that Regina co-authored with Rebecca Bratten Weiss. 

Regina and her husband co-own Chesterton Productions, which released their first, full-length, award-winning audio drama, The Shadow of the Bear in August 2005. They also worked on the half-hour drama Perpetua's Choice, which was released in September 2005.

In July 2006, their family was grieved by the loss of their son Joshua in a tragic car accident. They created a memorial website for him at, and Regina took a sabbatical from public speaking and writing to be with her family.

In August 2007 she resumed public work with the publication of her third book, Waking RoseOn June 1, 2008, Regina released her fourth book in her series of contemporary Fairy Tale Novels for Teens, The Midnight DancersOn July 2, 2010, Alex O'Donnell and the 40 CyberThieves was released as the fifth book in the Fairy Tale Novel series and won the 2011 Catholic Arts and Letters Award for Best Young Adult Fiction.  The sixth Fairy Tale Novel was released in the spring of 2013 titled, Rapunzel Let Down.

In August 2010, Regina was presented with the "In Defense of Sanity" award from the American Chesterton Society at their annual conference.

Today Regina edits fiction for her own publishing company, Chesterton Press, while continuing to work on new books and speaking at conferences, schools, and other events. She, her husband, and their children live at Shirefeld, their homestead in the Shenandoad Valley of Virginia.

If you're looking for a shorter biography of Regina to use for a conference brochure or news article, please click here to see one.

Website developed and hosted by Veraprise Incorporated